The Orphan Sisters: An utterly heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical novel / Shirley Dickson


‘I love this book! I couldn’t stop reading… Beautiful but also emotional (have tissues close by!!!)... Your heart just aches for the characters...’ On My Bookshelf, 5 stars

A heartbreaking, unputdownable and utterly unforgettable story of two young sisters cruelly abandoned by their mother at an orphanage. Fans of Wives of War, Lisa Wingate and Diney Costeloe will lose their hearts to this stunning World War Two novel.

1929: Four-year-old Etty and eight-year-old Dorothy are abandoned at Blakely Hall orphanage by their mother, never to see her again. With no other family to speak of, the sisters worship their beloved mam – and they are confused and heartbroken to be deserted by her when they need her the most.

1940: Etty and Dorothy are finally released from the confines of Blakely Hall – but their freedom comes when the country is in the grip of World War Two and its terrors. Amidst a devastating backdrop of screaming air-raid sirens and cold nights huddled in shelters, the sisters are desperate to put their broken childhoods behind them.

But trouble lies ahead. Dorothy must bid goodbye to her beloved husband when he’s sent to war and Etty must nurse a broken heart as she falls in love with the one man she can never be with.

Etty and Dorothy survived the orphanage with the help of one another and neither sister can forget the awful betrayal of their mother, which has haunted them their whole lives. But when a shocking secret about their painful childhood comes to light, will the sisters ever be the same again?

Readers are losing their hearts to The Orphan Sisters:

‘This one promises to keep you turning the pages as your heart attempts not to break. A book you will lose yourself in!’ Goodreads Reviewer

‘What a beautiful story! This one had me in tears from the very beginning. I couldn't put this one down and will definitely recommend it.’ A Book With Review, 5 stars

‘A beautifully written coming-of-age story… I didn’t want to put downTugs at your heart strings.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

Make sure you have tissues handy… The story is heartbreaking with a little happiness thrown in… This book really draws you in… Worthy of 5* and more.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

‘A gorgeous character-driven, coming-of-age story about family bonds, love, and hardships of war. Dickson painted a beautiful portrait… I thought the vivid descriptions of the horrid bombardments were exceptionally beautiful… I have already recommended the book!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

I couldn't put the book down.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

I was drawn right in and swept away by the heartbreaking story… A warm, emotional read… I highly recommend.’ Goodreads Reviewer

Exciting and heartwarming in equal measure… A very pleasant book to snuggle up with on a cold winters day in front of a roaring fire.’ NetGalley Reviewer

I love the story… A tale of family, heartbreaks, and forgiveness!... The characters are wonderful... The book is written so beautifully! It flows so well from one page to the next, it's easy to lose yourself in… It's not a story I will soon forget! I definitely recommend this book to others!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

Emotional and inspiring.’ NetGalley Reviewer, 5 stars


Now you can buy Books online in USA,UK, India and more than 100 countries.
*Terms and Conditions apply
Disclaimer: All product data on this page belongs to buy amazon.
No guarantees are made as to accuracy of prices and information.

Contact Us

Create a Bookshelf of your Favorite books
Get it on Google Play        Get it on Google Play
For Any Queries please don't hesitate to contact us at
USA +1(760)3380762
+1(650) 9808080
India +91 9023011224
India +91 9023011224 (Whatsapp)
Donate